at

Epilepsie


Dear Staffordshire Bull Terrier Breeders!
Dear Staffordshire Bull Terrier owners!


Responsible breeders do their best in planning their litters and in terms of the health of the parents and their puppies. But as long as there are no DNA tests available for various diseases, there is unfortunately no guarantee that the dog is immune from a disease.
Because EPILEPSY unfortunately also occurs in the Staffordshire bull terrier, it is important to the ÖSBC (Austrian Staffordshire Bullterrier Club) to support the research into a DNA test for EPILEPSY.
Since the Institute of Genetics at the University of Bern already has an ongoing research project on "Epilepsy in different breeds", this project is to be supported by the ÖSBC (Austrian Staffordshire Bullterrier Club).
Research: Epilepsy in different breeds - Institute of Genetics (unibe.ch)

For research, blood samples from staffies suffering from epilepsy and their relatives are urgently needed. Likewise, samples from dogs that are not sick themselves, but are known as safe carriers of epilepsy, and healthy animals are extremely helpful in finding the gene markers for EPILEPSY.

According to Dr. med. Vet. Matthias Christen, this means for a breed safely 100 samples each from safely idiopathic epileptics, carriers and safely healthy animals (more than 5 years old, never had seizures and never seizures in litter siblings, parents, or direct offspring).
The reason for the effort is that epilepsy is often not inherited from a single gene, but is composed of various genetic factors and. The more samples we can provide, the sooner there is a chance to find these markers in the Staffordshire bull terrier and to determine the loaded dogs.
The aim is that in breeding a selection program for the breeding animals can be created via a DNA test and in the future LESS STAFFIES MUST SUFFER FROM IDIOPATHIC EPILEPSY!!!
For this we absolutely need the help of the breeders and also the Staffi owners!

The breeders/owners of sick dogs, their relatives and safe carriers of epilepsy who are known or reported to the breeding warden, as well as breeders/owners of healthy dogs (please inform the breeding warden if a sample is to be given) will receive a letter requesting the submission of a blood sample and further information.

The ÖSBC is well aware that this is associated with veterinarian costs, so breeders/owners who show responsibility towards our breed and make their contribution to this project by sending in a blood sample should also receive a corresponding reimbursement of costs.
For dogs registered in the ÖHZB and kept in Austria, a copy will be provided upon presentation of a copy

  • 1) of the completed leaflet and questionnaire (only for sick dogs)
  • 2) the veterinarian's fee note on the blood sample collection and dispatch of samples to the Institute of Genetics, Univ. Bern
  • 3) and the receipt of the postal item to the Institute of Genetics, Univ. Bern (for self-dispatch)

Veterinarian costs for the blood sample (max. 20,-- €) reimbursed by the ÖSBC.

For further questions please contact our
breeding warden: Mr. Johann Raab, e-mail: cheerstaff(at)aon.at
or our
office: Mrs. Renate Raab, Tel. 0664 430 74 62, e-mail: oesbc.office(at)aon.at
very happy to help.

All data remain with the breeding warden of the ÖSBC and will be treated confidentially!

en

Epilepsie


Liebe Staffordshire Bullterrier Züchter!
Liebe Staffordshire Bullterrier Besitzer!


Verantwortungsvolle Züchter geben ihr Bestes bei der Planung ihrer Würfe und in Bezug auf die Gesundheit der Elterntiere und ihrer Welpen. Aber solange für diverse Erkrankungen keine DNA-Tests zur Verfügung stehen, gibt es leider keine Garantie, dass der Hund vor einer Krankheit gefeit ist.
Weil EPILEPSIE leider auch beim Staffordshire Bullterrier vorkommt, liegt es dem ÖSBC am Herzen, die Forschung nach einem DNA-Test für EPILEPSIE zu unterstützen.
Da es beim Institut für Genetik der Universität Bern ein bereits laufendes Forschungsprojekt über „Epilepsie bei verschiedenen Rassen“ gibt, soll dieses Projekt seitens des ÖSBC unterstützt werden.
Forschung: Epilepsie bei verschiedenen Rassen - Institut für Genetik (unibe.ch)

Für die Forschung werden dringend Blutproben von an Epilepsie erkrankten Staffies und deren Verwandten benötigt. Ebenso sind Proben von Hunden, welche selbst nicht erkrankt sind, aber als sichere Träger von Epilepsie bekannt sind, und gesunde Tiere äusserst hilfreich um die Gen-Marker für EPILEPSIE ausfindig machen zu können.

Nach Aussage von Dr. med. vet. Matthias Christen bedeutet dies für eine Rasse sicher 100 Proben jeweils von sicher idiopathischen Epileptikern, Trägern und sicher gesunden Tieren (mehr als 5 Jahre alt, nie Anfälle gehabt und nie Anfälle bei Wurfgeschwistern, Eltern, oder direkten Nachkommen).
Der Grund für den Aufwand ist, dass Epilepsie oft nicht von einem einzelnen Gen vererbt wird, sondern sich aus verschiedenen genetischen Faktoren und zusammensetzt. Je mehr Proben wir zur Verfügung stellen können, desto früher besteht die Chance diese Marker auch beim Staffordshire Bullterrier zu finden und die belasteten Hunde zu ermitteln.
Das Ziel ist, dass in der Zucht über einen DNA-Test ein Auswahlprogramm für die Zuchttiere erstellt werden kann und in Zukunft WENIGER STAFFIES UNTER IDIOPATHISCHER EPILEPSIE LEIDEN MÜSSEN!!!
Dazu brauchen wir bitte unbedingt die Mithilfe der Züchter und auch der Staffi-Besitzer!

Das Epilepsie-Projekt kann selbstverständlich auch von Züchtern und Staffi-Besitzern aus anderen Ländern mit der Einsendung von Blutproben ihrer Hunde an das Institut für Genetik, unterstützt werden.  

Die Züchter/Besitzer von erkrankten Hunden, deren Verwandte und sichere Träger von Epilepsie, die dem Zuchtwart bekannt sind oder gemeldet werden, erhalten ein Schreiben mit dem Ersuchen um Einsendung einer Blutprobe und weiterführenden Informationen.

Dass dies mit Tierarztkosten verbunden ist, ist dem ÖSBC durchaus bewusst, deshalb sollen Züchter/Besitzer, die Verantwortung gegenüber unserer Rasse zeigen und ihren Beitrag zu diesem Projekt leisten indem sie eine Blutprobe einsenden, auch einen entsprechenden Kostenersatz erhalten.
Für ins ÖHZB eingetragene und in Österreich gehaltene Hunde werden bei Vorlage einer Kopie

  • 1) des ausgefüllten Merkblattes und Fragebogens (nur bei erkrankten Hunden)
  • 2) der Honorarnote des Tierarztes über die Blutabnahme und Probenversand an das Institut für Genetik, Univ. Bern
  • 3) und des Beleges der Postsendung an das Institut für Genetik, Univ. Bern (bei Eigenversand)

Tierarztkosten für die Blutabnahme (max. 20,-- €) vom ÖSBC rückvergütet.

Für weitere Fragen stehen unser
Zuchtwart: Herr Johann Raab, e-mail: cheerstaff(at)aon.at
oder unsere
Geschäftsstelle: Frau Renate Raab, Tel. 0664 430 74 62, e-mail: oesbc.office(at)aon.at
sehr gerne zur Verfügung.

Alle Daten verbleiben beim Zuchtwart des ÖSBC und werden vertraulich behandelt!